Home Page

Our Curriculum

What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

The Curriculum at Stobhillgate

Children in the Foundation Stage (Reception and Nursery) follow the "Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum", which builds on early learning that begins at home and prepares them for more formal learning in Keystage 1 of the National Curriculum. The children are given opportunities to learn in many different ways with a strong emphasis on structured play and first-hand experience provided in a safe and stimulating environment. Children's learning is supported through direct teaching in small groups. The Foundation Curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning –


Three "prime areas of learning":


  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.


Four "specific areas of learning":


  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding of the world.
  • Expressive Arts & Design.


The Foundation Stage are very much part of the whole school, taking part in assemblies during the week and performances for Harvest and Christmas. Nursery and Reception children also have the opportunity to use the school's ICT suite every week and have PE sessions in the school hall once or twice a week.

Children benefit from going outdoors every day (come rain or shine!) where activities are set up to promote all seven areas of the curriculum. Above all, our Foundation State aims to provide a secure start to your child's education:


'Children make outstanding progress in the Early Years Foundation Stage, from generally below expected starting points. By the end of Reception many children enter Year 1 having reached above expected levels in most areas of development. This outstanding progress continues throughout the main school.'(Ofsted 2012)



Foundation Stage staff members work closely with the County Advisory Group and liaise frequently with other local EY settings.


From Year 1 children follow the National Keystage 1 Curriculum which builds on the basic grounding of Foundation Stage. Children follow the statutory programmes of study for the National Curriculum subjects -


  • English.
  • Maths.
  • Science.
  • Design Technology.
  • Information Technology.
  • History.
  • Geography.
  • Art.
  • Music.
  • PE.
  • PSHE & Citizenship
  • & the Northumberland agreed syllabus for RE.


One subject which is incorporated in the other curriculum areas here in Stobhillgate is Thinking Skills & Philosophy. If we can develop this all-important area across the curriculum into other subjects we believe the children will be well-equipped to deal with situations in real contexts.


From Year 3 children follow the National Keystage 2 Curriculum which continues through to Years 5 & 6 in the Middle School setting. We work closely with our feeder schools to ensure continuity and progression throughout Keystage 2.