Menu
Home Page

Forest School

Picture 1

What is Forest School?

The philosophy of Forest Schools is to encourage and inspire individuals of any age through positive outdoor experiences. Forest Schools have demonstrated success with children of all ages who visit the same local woodlands on a regular basis. Through play, children have the opportunity to learn about the natural environment, how to handle risks and most importantly to use their own initiative to solve problems and co-operate with others.

 

What We Do

This year we are setting up a Forest School at Stobhillgate. Over the course of the year the children will have an opportunity to take part in lots of activities including:

  • Den building
  • Cooking
  • Designing and making things with wood
  • Natural art
  • Planting and growing food
  • Working with tools
  • Making fire

These activities allow the children to learn new skills outside the classroom and to build confidence and self-esteem. 

Timetable

This term, Forest School will be running on a Tuesday afternoon and will be run by Mr Innes and Mrs Bush. Children will attend once a fortnight with Year 3 and 4 pupils rotating. Year 2 will have Forest School on a Wednesday with Mrs Bush starting 25th April. Below is the timetable for this term:

 

SUMMER TERM FOREST SCHOOL

YEAR 2

YEAR 3

YEAR 4

Wednesday 25th April

Tuesday 24th April

Tuesday 17th April

Wednesday 2nd May

Tuesday 8th May

Tuesday 1st May

Wednesday 9th May

Tuesday 5th June

Tuesday 15th May

Wednesday 23rd May

Tuesday 19th June

Tuesday 12th June

Wednesday 6th June

Tuesday 3rd July

Tuesday 26th June

Wednesday 13th June Tuesday 17th July Tuesday 10th July
Wednesday 20th June    
Wednesday 4th July    
Wednesday 11th July    
Wednesday 18th July    

What the Children Need to Bring

Your child will need to following items in school for Forest School as we will be going outside in all weathers:

  • Wellies
  • Long trousers
  • Waterproof coat
  • Hat
  • Gloves

How to Get Involved

If you have either experience of Forest School or a particular skill or interest in the outdoors and would like to help, then please don't hesitate to speak to Mr Innes.

Top